My next project – iPad Mag

Yesterday I finally managed to download the Digital Publishing Suite for InDesign, having scoured the internet for resources and tutorials, I came across… well not very much at all.  Due to the software being so new and recently out of its BETA stage, coupled with me probably looking in the wrong areas, I decided to go down my least favourable route and actually look at the manufacturer’s website for help.

I should really do this more often, as the manual is pretty straight forward, and they have a handy bunch of videos to go with it! My aim now, as part of one of my university projects, is to take the magazine I designed for the iPad in InDesign (image above is just a mockup) and actually convert it to a working iPad magaine! Check back soon for the outcome!

Update: The video is now complete, you can view it here.

With all that said I thought I would put together some links for those crazy designers, who like me just want to have a good search round the ol’ interweb for something interesting:

Start here, the Adobe DPS manual (for both cs5 and cs5.5) – trust me, you win half the battle after reading this.

The Adobe video guides, another great place to start if you prefer to watch.

As of todays date, buttons in DPS don’t allow two actions – so when you tap to open up a full screen image, you then need another button to close it.  This article and also this one show you an effective away of doing this.

Want a movie to start playing on one of your articles, and smoothly transition into the readable bit. Check this out, great tutorial.

And another video about button placement inside a tooltip image – really well explained and easy to do.

Update 25/11/11: Have found the main DPS Help Area here, enjoy!

Have anything to add to this list, get in touch and help everyone out!



Leave a comment